COVID-19 Updates    Mayor's Blog   
Mayor Congratulates Members of the 6th Democratic Parliament

Date: 2021-10-03 23:55:52

Mayor Congratulates Members of the 6th Democratic Parliament

23 May 2019
Mayor Congratulates Members of the 6th Democratic Parliament
The Mayor of eThekwini Municipality, Cllr Zandile Gumede, congratulates the members of the 6th democratic parliament and wishes them well in their term of office.
“I congratulate His Excellency, President Cyril Ramaphosa of the Republic of South Africa and our new Premier, Honourable Sihle Zikalala who were recently elected to office. As Mayor of one of the biggest Metros in the country, I vow to throw my weight behind them to aggressively advance the agenda of the national democratic revolution,” she said.
Mayor also congratulated Councillors and ANC officials who were serving the eThekwini region and are now newly sworn in members of the KwaZulu-Natal Legislature. “We wished them well and we hope that they will continue to raise the eThekwini flag sky high. We look forward to working with them in taking our nation forward,” she added.
In total, six Councillors and two officials will now serve as Members of the Provincial Legislature.
“I would like to assure residents that service delivery will not be disrupted in the absence of these Councillors because there are PR Councillors. Also, by-elections will be held in the affected wards to ensure that new Councillors are elected,” elaborated Mayor Gumede.
Issued by the office of the Mayor, Durban City Hall, 263 Dr Pixley KaSeme Street.