COVID-19 Updates    Mayor's Blog   
Inaugural South African Agricultural Awards to Be Hosted In EThekwini

Date: 2023-04-17 15:24:21

Inaugural South African Agricultural Awards to Be Hosted In EThekwini

5 APRIL 2023

The inaugural South African Agricultural Awards (SAAA) will be held at the Inkosi Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre (Durban ICC) on 25 June.

The SAAA aims to promote the agricultural sector through celebrating and honouring the outstanding achievements of agriSMME’s and farmers who are contributing to the South African agriculture and rural development industry.

The awards attracted 259 nominations across different categories. The nomination process was open from 20 December 2022 and closed on 28 February 2023. The public was invited to nominate individuals or organisations excelling in the sector.

However, one category remains open for nominations. That is the ‘eThekwini Metro: Farmer of the Year’. Nominations close on 5 May. Local farmers can submit their applications on and click on the nominations sub-menu to commence with the application.

The awards categories include Young Farmer of the Year, Farm Diversification, Nature Friendly Farmer, Rural Transformative Farmer, Innovation in Agriculture, Digital Development Award, and Livestock Farmer among others.

In addition, to ensure meaningful impact, the Municipality’s Agri-Business Department is entering into a partnership with the SAAA non-profit organisation to promote eThekwini AgriSMME’s enterprise development initiatives. This will see local emerging farmers receive necessary training, skills development, and mentorship.

Ayanda Mnguni from the SAAA said: “We chose to host the first awards in eThekwini as the City has over the years supported many young people’s dreams within the agricultural sector.”

EThekwini Mayor Councillor Mxolisi Kaunda welcomed the progressive initiative aimed at enhancing agricultural production.

“These awards will offer recognition that seek to inspire continuous productivity and resilience. In 2020, the eThekwini Municipality Council adopted the Agribusiness Masterplan as a guide to develop the sector. To date, the Municipality has invested approximately R55 million into Agribusiness infrastructure support projects, unlocking over 1 300 new jobs with 49 SMMEs benefiting from agribusiness programme,” he said.

The awards sponsors include the Department of Public Works, MTN, Spar, FNB, Nestle, TWK Agri. Pty (Ltd), Johnson Workwear and Gagasi FM as a media sponsor.

Tickets for the awards cost R150 and are available at all Spar outlets and TicketPro.

For more information on SAAA email

Alternatively follow @saagriawards on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Twitter or call 011 568 0724 and 031 311 4237.


Issued jointly by eThekwini Municipality and South African Agricultural Awards.