Skip Navigation Links
20 Years of Freedom and Democracy
Breaking News
Current Projects and Programmes
Development planning Research Studies
Durban Municipal Thrift Fund
Economic Development: EDGE
eThekwini Audio Channel
eThekwini Quality of Life
eThekwini Weekly Bulletin
ezaseGagasini Metro
Integrated Development Plan
Legislation and Policies
Public Access to Information
Public Notices
Radical Economic Transformation Framework
Services Tariffs
Thrif Fund
National Treasury
Events Calendar
Current Projects
20 Years of Freedom and Democracy
EThekwini economic council nominations
The eThekwini Economic Council (EEC) will comprise of the core council structure chaired by eThekwini Mayor Councillor Mxolisi Kaunda as well as having sector workstreams.

The EEC members’ composition is diverse in both gender and race group, ensuring that the forum is ideally representative of all who live in South Africa and its business community.

The Council Structure:
  • Comprises of a maximum of two candidates representing each sector
  • 32 Council members (Mayor, Speaker, Chairs of Committees, Sector Representatives, Deputy Mangers)

Members of Chambers: 

  • 12 members
  • Durban Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Growth Coalition, National Federation Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Minara Chamber Commerce, amakhosi and organised labour 

Workstream members:

  • 31+ members
  • Represented by big business/corporates, academia, Team Durban, Ocean Economy, construction, creative industry, agriculture, technology, manufacturing, tourism, organised civil society, safety and security, youth, climate change, women and organised informal business
The following members will serve on the EEC, nominated to serve by relevant business units, sector clusters, public nomination as well as industry leaders in the key sectors.

The following are representatives of the City Council:
  1. The Mayor of eThekwini - who will also be the Chair of the EEC
  2. The Speaker of eThekwini Municipality who will be the alternate Chair (in the absence of the Mayor)
  3. The Chair of the Economic Development and Planning Committee of eThekwini. The Deputy Chair of ECOD will be the alternate member of the EEC in the absence of the Chair of ECOD
  4. The Chair of the Human Settlements and Infrastructure Committee of eThekwini. The Deputy Chair of the Human Settlements and Infrastructure Committee will be the alternate member of the EEC in the absence of the Chair of the  Human Settlements and Infrastructure Committee
  5. The eThekwini City Manager
  6. The eThekwini Deputy City Manager for Economic Development and Planning
  7. The eThekwini Deputy City Manager – Human Settlements and Infrastructure

The following are representatives of Organised Labour in the City:

8) South African Municipal Workers Union (SAMWU)
a) Chair of SAMWU
b) Secretary of SAMWU

9) Independent Municipal and Allied Trade Union (IMATU)
a) Chair of IMATU
b) Secretary of IMATU

The following is the representatives of Amakhosi in the City:
10) Representative of Amakhosi in the City
a) Inkosi S Mlaba, Regional Chair - Amakhosi

The following are representatives of Chambers of Business:
11) Durban Chamber of Business Industry
a) Nigel Ward - President
b) Palesa Phili – Chief Executive Officer

12) National Federation Chamber of Commerce and Industry – NAFCOC
a) France Nhlapho - Provincial Secretary
b) Jabulani Nxumalo – Regional Chairperson

13) Minara Chamber of Commerce
a) Solly Suleman – President
b) Razak Jooma - Secretary General

14) Growth Coalition
a) Moses Tembe - Co-Chair
b) Andrzej Kiepiela – Coordinator

The following are representatives of Team Durban and Big Business in the City:
15) Representatives of Team Durban and Big Business
a) Themba Ngcobo, Mashiya Capital – CEO
b) Suben Moodley, Toyota SA – Senior Vice President

The following are representatives of the key Sectors in the City:
16) Representative of the Ocean Economy
a) Moshe Motlohi – Durban Port Manager
b) Mzwamandla Sosibo - Maritime Cluster Chair

17) Representatives in Construction
a) Bernadette Khumalo – CEO, Rockwil
b) Dumisani Nkabinde – SANRAL 

18) Representative of the Creative Industries.
a) Kim Matthew – CEO, Durban Music School (Music)
b) Pepsi Pokane – Executive Producer, Uzalo (Television)

19) Representative of the Agricultural industry
a) Xola Sithole – CEO, Fair Foods
b) Deiter Schumann – Director, RSA Market Agents

20) Representative of Technology industry
a) Precious Lugayeni – Chairperson, Smart Exchange
b) Paballo Moerane - Youth in Technology

21) Representative of the Manufacturing industry
a) Dr. Justin Barnes - B&M Analysts / TWIMMS
b) Lumka Sibanyoni – Furniture and Wood Cluster

22) Representative of the Tourism industry
a) Graeme Watson – KZN Chair of SATSA
b) Cedric Mkhize – Chairperson, Thinking Pair Group (CTO)

23) Representative from organized civil society
a) SANCO representative
b) Zwile Zulu – Member of Progressive Professional Forum
c) Phumelela Zikalala – Black Lawyers Association

24) Representatives from academia in the city
a) Prof. Moyo, DVC – Durban University of Technology
b) President of Vocational / Technical Training
c) Prof. Ramjugernath, DVC – University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN)

25) Representative of safety and security matters
a) Steve Middleton - Head of Metro Police
b) Major General Mgobhozi – Durban District Commissioner

26) Representative of Climate Change matters
a) Koyi Mchunu – Snr. Lecturer Town and Regional Planning, UKZN

27) Representative of Youth in the city
a) Thulisa Ndlela – CEO, Ayigobi and Team Durban Member
b) Sduduzo Gumede – Youth Organisation member

28) Representative Women in the City
a) Nokuthula Maphumulo – CEO, UMyezana Women Organisation
b) Nombuso Ndumo – Women Organisation member

29) Representative from a grouping representing people with Disabilities
a) Scelo Khawula - Chairperson, Thekwini Disability Forum 

30) Representative of organized informal businesses in the city
a) Mzwandile Mavula – EMIEF member, Informal Traders

  • Agro Processing
  • Automotive and Transport Equipment
  • Chemical and plastics
  • Clothing and Textile
  • Furniture and wood products
  • Metal and metal fabrication
  • Leather and footwear
Creative Industry 
  • Film, TV, Theatre production
  • Craft Industry
  • Radio and Digital media
Green Economy
  • Renewable and Energy Efficiency
  • Bio Fuels and Fuel Cells
  • Waste Recycling and beneficiation
Ocean Economy
  • Boat and Ship Building
  • Maritime Services
  • Marine Leisure

Financial Sector

  • Lobal Business Service
  • Information, Communication & Digital Tech
  • Banking Institutions
  • Top five Accounting Firms

State Owned

  • Ithala
  • Dube Trade-Port
  • Transnet
  • Moses Kotane Institute

Public Transport

  • Association for Buses
  • E-Hailing

Traditional Healers
Interfaith Community
Sport Business Sector


Cannot retrieve the URL specified in the XML Link property. For more assistance, contact your site administrator.

Fire Department & Metro Police:
031 361 0000
Water and Traffic Hotline:
080 131 3013
Electricity Contact Centre:
080 13 13 111
City Maps
Find us on Facbook   YouTube   follow us on twitter   follow us on LinkedIn  

Home | Privacy policy | Disclaimer | Sitemap | Vacancies | Contact us

© eThekwini Municipality 2011