Nature Reserve Proclamation
In the past few years the Environmental Planning and Climate Protection Department (EPCPD) has been collaborating with Ezemvelo KZN Wildlife (EKZNW) and eThekwini’s Parks Leisure and Cemeteries Department to proclaim 11 municipal nature reserves in terms of the National Environmental Management: Protected Areas Act (Act No. 57 of 2003). The reason for proclaiming these areas is because they have been lacking adequate conservation protection and in some instances, reserves have been extended through environmental land acquisition but reserve boundaries have not been adjusted. The formal protection afforded by the proclamation of these reserves will ensure the continued conservation of the biodiversity and ecosystem services of these areas.

Current status of the project
 Nature Reserve Proclamation.jpg
Roosfontein Nature Reserve
On the 9th of October 2015, the Roosfontein Nature Reserve was officially proclaimed as a nature reserve. On the 23rd of August 2018 the other nine nature reserves were also officially proclaimed as nature reserves. Those nine nature reserves are: Burman Bush, Empisini, Marian Wood, New Germany, Paradise Valley, Pigeon Valley, Silverglen, Springside, Virginia Bush, and Giba Gorge. The Empisini proclamation document is currently being discussed with the eThekwini Municipality’s Legal Services Unit.
Future Activities
The EPCPD will collaborate with EKZNW, eThekwini’s Parks Leisure and Cemeteries Department and other stakeholders in promoting responsible management of the 11 municipal nature reserves. The EPCPD will also explore opportunities of proclaiming acquired areas as nature reserves.

For more information on the proclamation of municipal nature reserves, please contact Mr. Bheka Memela (