Staff from the Biodiversity Impact Assessment Branch monitor developments for compliance with stipulated conditions. When these are not being met, and significant biodiversity harm is being caused, corrective action is taken. The department currently has two ‘biodiversity protection officer’ posts. The key areas of responsibility for the biodiversity protection officers are any private developments or construction activities which pose a threat to the municipality’s biodiversity resources and associated environmental services.
Biodiversity crimes can be reported to Thenjiwe Msani ( For further information on biodiversity crimes. BioCrime_A5_lores_electronic.pdfCLICK HERE 
Other useful contacts for enforcement issues:
For any contravention in terms of the National Environmental Management Act, 107 of 1998 (NEMA), e.g. conducting a listed activity without environmental authorisation in terms of sec. 24, 24D & 24F.
Contact: KZN Department: Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs (EDTEA) eThekwini Regional area HOD, Vanessa Maclou on 031 366 7338.
Agricultural pests and pollution in terms of the Agricultural Pests Act, 6 of 1983.  Invasive alien plants (listed) or any other matters occurring on agriculturally zoned land that would be restricted in terms of Regulations 15 & 16 of the Conservation of Agricultural Resources Act, 43 of 1983 (CARA). Subdivision of agriculturally zoned land in terms of the Subdivision of Agricultural Lands Act, 70 of 1970.
Contact: National Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (DAFF), Ayanda Goba on 033 345 3515; E-mail:; website:
Any wildlife related contraventions (including illegal hunting, theft / illegal gathering of specially protected plants / animal relocation / fishing and hunting permits, etc.) in terms of the Natal Nature Conservation Ordinance, 15 of 1974.
Contact: The Durban office of Ezemvelo KZN Wildlife (KZNW) on 031 274 1150. Or register your complaint by faxing it to 031 274 1174.
Any incidents of water pollution, illegal water extraction or the disturbance, realignment, drainage or impoundment of any water course (including wetlands) in terms of the National Water Act, 36 of 1998.
Contact: Provincial Department of Water and Sanitation (DWS), Durban Regional Offices: Ms Zanele Msimang; Compliance Monitoring & Enforcement on 031 336 2823.  
For water pollution complaints and emergencies, eThekwini Municipality’s Pollution and Environment department can be contacted.
Contact: 080 13 13 013 or SMS: 083 707 3013; Fax: 031 311 8220
Any felling, disturbance, destruction, etc. of specially protected trees or indigenous trees within a natural forest without a permit in terms of the National Forests Act, 84 of 1998.
Contact: National Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (DAFF), Ayanda Mnyungula on 033 392 7729; E-mail: , website:
Any felling, disturbance, destruction, etc. of amenity trees on council owned verges or recreational parks.
Contact: eThekwini Municipality: Parks, Leisure & Cemeteries Department on 031 322 4000.
Any matters pertaining to mining (illegal mining, unsafe conditions, etc.) in terms of the Minerals & Petroleum Resources Development Act 28 of 2002.
Contact: the National Department: Mineral Resources: Janine Isaac on 031 335 9690.