Durban’s Chief Resilience Officer (CRO) Team (Debra Roberts, Jo Douwes and Manisha Hassan) would like to thank you for your participation and support as part of Durban’s resilience journey. Durban’s first Resilience Strategy is a product of a four year consultative process with a broad and diverse group of Durban’s stakeholders. The CRO Team is proud to announce that Durban’s Resilience Strategy was formally adopted by the eThekwini Municipality Council in August 2017.

Overview of Durban’s Resilience Strategy

Durban’s Resilience Strategy is divided into four components. The two resilience building options (RBOs) identified in Durban’s Resilience Strategy form the foundation of the Strategy: ‘Collaborative informal settlement action’ and ‘Integrated and innovative planning at the interface between municipal and traditional governance systems’. The third component focuses on “Exploring potential ‘bridging links” which acknowledges that, although the two resilience building options provide an important entry point for building resilience in Durban, additional resilience challenges will also need to be addressed over time. The fourth component focuses on “Institutionalising Resilience in eThekwini Municipality” and speaks to the establishment of a “Sustainable and Resilient City Initiatives Unit” in the Office of Strategic Management. The Resilience Strategy speaks to the complex and fundamental development challenges facing our city and provides an authentic and appropriate starting point for local and transformative resilience action in Durban.

The delivery of the Resilience Strategy is not the end of Durban’s Resilience journey and the CRO Team looks  forward to continuing this journey with Durban’s’ stakeholders in the implementation phase.  Please note that this is final edition of Durban’s 100RC-E Newsletter, updates on the implementation of Resilience Strategy will be posted on Durban’s’ 100RC website, for more information on Durban’s resilience journey and strategy development process please click here.